Crockpot Salsa Chicken

10Jul08

This recipe is from sparkrecipes.com… and if you haven’t heard of it, I feel sorry for you! This is such an amazingly simple recipe, that is low in fat, and delicious. I shared this recipe with several girls on my local knot board, and it has been a hit! I have yet to find someone who doesn’t enjoy it.

PS: It is true that it does not photograph well!

Ingredients:

•    4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts frozen
•    1 cup salsa
•    1 package reduced sodium taco seasoning ( I use regular!)
•    1 can reduced fat cream of mushroom soup condensed (you can also use cream of chicken)
•    1/2 cup reduced fat sour cream

Directions:

1. Add frozen chicken to the crockpot…I promise it is ok to put it in there frozen!

2. Sprinkle taco seasoning over chicken

3. Mix salsa and soup in small bowl, then pour mixture over chicken

4. Cook on low for 6-8 hours (time will vary, mine is generally done in 4-6 hours)

5. When ready to eat, remove from heat and stir in sour cream. At this step, I prefer to shred the chicken with a fork… it always shreds really easily.

6. Serve on tortillas, over rice, or however else you want.

7. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Crockpot Salsa Chicken”

  1. mmmmm thanks for the recipe. this made it to my blog within days of starting it! haha. hey, yours photographs better than mine! yum

  2. 2 Jen

    Oh I love it!!! It is sooooo good, I am making it again tomorrow for dinner.
    This time I bought spinach & veggie tortillas to eat the chicken salsa with…I will let you know how it goes!! Thanks for the recipe, I passed it on to my friends 😉


Leave a Reply

