Beef Stroganoff Casserole

31Jul08

This is another one that I found when I was looking for a recipe to throw into the oven, that was simple, and had ingredients I would have on hand. This turned out really well. It tasted like a beef stroganoff casserole to me, which is why I re-named it that! I didn’t have potato chips in the house, so I used french’s friend onions on top…. delicious. I think I will always add those on top!!! Overall, this dish is cheesy and creamy and filling. Perfect for a weeknight meal!

INGREDIENTS:

 

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 medium onion, minced ( I used dried minced onion and the equivalency on the bottle)
  • 8 ounces egg noodles
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 cup sour cream ( I used light)
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup ( I used 99% fat free)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese ( or more if you like cheese!)
  • crushed potato chips or french fried onions
DIRECTIONS:
  • Brown beef and onion together
  • Cook noodles, drain, then stir butter into hot noodles
  • Mix together sour cream, soup, and seasonings
  • Alternate layers of noodles, beef mixture, cheese, and soup mixture as best you can. It doesn’t have to be even, in a greased 2 or 2.5 quart casserole.
  • Top with chips or fried onion
  • Bake at 350 for 25-25 minutes!

One Response to “Beef Stroganoff Casserole”

  1. 1 Jessica

    This has definitely become one of our favorite “go to” recipes. so easy and so good. thanks for this one!


Leave a Reply

