The Ultimate Grilled Cheese

22Aug08

Back in the winter, I injured my back at work. I was off for 3 months, and got really really bored! This is when I discovered that I liked to cook! Anyways, sitting at home all the time and eating boring lunch after lunch got old, and I found this recipe on recipezaar. Since then I have probably made it 15 or more times… my sister loves it, my husband loves it, and I love it! It is not very healthy, and I certainly wouldn’t eat it every day, but it is such a treat and a change from boring grilled cheese. I have made this in a skillet, on a griddle, and in my sandwich maker. I like it best in the sandwich maker!

Ingredients: (This serves 5… I usually cut it in half, or make it all and save the mixture for another day)

 

  • 1 (3 ounce) package cream cheese, softened ( I use light or fat free)
  • 3/4 cup mayonnaise (I use light)
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon seasoning salt
  • 10 slices Italian bread (I have used white, italian, didn’t notice a big difference)
  • 2 tablespoons butter, softened

 

Directions:

 

  1. In a mixing bowl, beat cream cheese and mayonnaise until smooth.
  2. Stir in cheese, garlic powder, and seasoned salt
  3. Spread bread with cheese mixture, about 1/3 cup on each.
  4. Top with remaining bread
  5. Butter the outside of the sandwiches; cook as desired using skillet, griddle, or sandwich maker.
No Responses Yet to “The Ultimate Grilled Cheese”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

