Super Bowl Sunday

14Feb09

We had people over this year for the Super Bowl, and I made several yummy things. The menu included: Chocolate Krispy Footballs, Buffalo Chicken (AKA Crack Dip), Veggie Pizza, and Hot Pizza Dip. I have pictures and recipes for all!!

Chocolate Football’s

p2010576p2010577

I made this for the super bowl last year, and people told me they wouldn’t come over this year if I didn’t make them again! They are fun to make, and fairly easy as well!!!

Ingredients:

  • 6 squares Bakers semi-sweet baking chocolate
  • 1/2 cup light corn syrup
  • 1 tablespoon butter (we used light)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 cups of Cocoa Pebbles
  • White decorating gel

Directions:

  1. Microwave chocolate, corn syrup and butter in large bowl on HIGH for 2 1/2 minutes. Stirring after 1 1/2 minutes.
  2. Stir in vanilla. 
  3. Add cereal. Mix well.
  4. Cool for 10 minutes.
  5. Shape into 18 (3 inch long) football shapes with lightly moistened hands. 
  6. Place on wax paper. Use decorating gel to add laces. Let stand until laces are firm.

 

Veggie Pizza

I have already blogged this recipe before, here is the link- Veggie Pizza! For fun, a picture!

 

p20105781

 

Buffalo Chicken Dip (AKA “Crack Dip”)

p2010581

I have been hearing about this dip forever on the nest’s What’s Cooking board, but I have never really had a good occasion when I felt like making it. When I decided to have people over for the game this year, I knew this would be absolutely perfect. I am not a fan of buffalo wings or spicy stuff, so I didn’t eat this, but my guests ate it up. They said it was amazing, and I believe them. It was very easy to make, and I will definitely make it again!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans white meat chicken ( the big cans) drained. Our grocery store only had the tuna sized cans, so we used 4. (NOTE to blog readers: If I was going to be eating this I would use real chicken. The canned chicken honestly makes me want to gag……) If you want to use real chicken, use 2 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded, about 4 cups.
  • 3/4 cup Frank’s red hot sauce… other recipes say to use 12 oz, I guess it’s personal preference.
  • 1 cup ranch or bleu cheese dressing. We used Ranch.
  • 2 packages of cream cheese, for a total of 16 oz, softened
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (we used Mild)

Directions:

  1. Mix cream cheese, dressing, and buffalo sauce until well blended.
  2. Add chicken, mix well
  3. Stir in shredded cheddar cheese
  4. Place mixture into crock pot and heat on high until hot, reduce heat to low or warm for serving.

We ate the dip with Fritos scoops and celery!

Molly’s Hot Pizza Dip

p2010584

I saw this recipe on Molly’s blog, and knew I had to make it! I am so glad I did, because it turned out really yummy. It was also really easy to put together and bake. I will for sure be making this one again. 

Sorry about the pic, we dug in before we remembered to photograph it haha!

Ingredients:

  • 1 (8 oz). cream cheese, softened 
  • 1 teaspoon Italian Seasoning (of course I ran out… thankfully my spice rack had a seasoning called “pizza seasoning” so we used that. It was perfect!)
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • ¾ cup grated fresh parmesan cheese
  • 1 (8 oz) pizza sauce
  • ¼ cup diced green bell pepper, sliced green onions or sliced green onions (we omitted)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
2. Combine cream cheese and seasoning mix; spread onto bottom of dish.
3. In small bowl, combine mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses. Sprinkle half of the mozzarella cheese mixture over cream cheese mixture. Top with pizza sauce, spreading evenly. Sprinkle with remaining mozzarella cheese mixture. 
4. Bake 15-20 minutes or until bubbly. Top with bell pepper or onion if using!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


One Response to “Super Bowl Sunday”

  1. 1 Molly

    Seeee! I told you! It’s so yummy, you don’t want to stop to take the pic. Glad you liked it!!


Leave a Reply

