Oreo Cupcakes…

27Feb09

p2210592

So me ( I mean baby) was craving cupcakes last weekend, and I had the ingredients on hand to try Beantown Baker’s recipe I had been eyeing! In truth, she has a second recipe that looks even better, but I didn’t have the ingredients on hand, and I REALLY wanted a cupcake!

The verdict: The cupcakes were REALLY yummy…. I halved the recipe so I wouldn’t eat two dozen cupcakes, and I was really happy with them. The frosting I made, from some random easy to throw together recipe, was gross. I had to pick it off, and I really don’t think I will share it with you. I think next time I will make a whipped frosting like suggested in the original recipe, or use the yummy store bought kind 🙂

Ingredients: (This full recipe makes 24 cupcakes)

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 2/3 cup sugar
  • large egg whites, at room temperature
  • 1 cup chocolate sandwich cookies, lightly crushed

Directions:

  1. Preheat over to 350F. Insert liners into a medium cupcake pan.
  2. In a large bowl cream together the butter, milk, and vanilla with an electric mixer until fluffy, about 3-5 minutes.
  3. In a separate bowl mix together the flour, baking powder, and salt.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to butter mixture. Mix until integrated. Stir in sugar. 
  5. With an electric mixer on low speed, beat for 30 seconds. Turn the mixer up to medium speed and beat for 2 minutes. 
  6. Add the egg whites. Beat for 2 more minutes. Stir in the crushed cookies.
  7. Fill the cupcake lines three-quarters full. 
  8. Bake for about 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of cupcakes comes out clean. 
  9. Cool cupcakes in the pan.

Use frosting of your choice (not mine!) and top with remaining crushed Oreos!

p2210594p2210598



No Responses Yet to “Oreo Cupcakes…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment