Salisbury Steak and Garlic Fries

27Feb09

p2230603

For some reason, I can’t cook chicken. I haven’t been able to since I became pregnant. I can eat it at a restaurant, but I can’t look at to cook it. Yuck. Sooo we had ground beef to use, and I wanted to find something new and easy to make. I found this recipe on Recipezaar. I personally have never had salisbury steak, and in all honesty thought it was truly steak. So I have no clue if this is what it is supposed to taste like… but it was GOOD! Hubby and I both ate it right up!!!

Ingredients:

 

  • 1 (10 1/2 ounce) can condensed golden mushroom soup, undiluted ( I used regular 98% fat free cream of mushroom, and it turned out fine)
  • 1 1/2 lbs ground round
  • 1/2 cup dry breadcrumbs
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • salt and pepper
  • garlic salt or garlic powder
  • 1/3 cup water

 

Directions:

 

  1. Combine 1/4 cup soup with ground beef, bread crumbs, egg, onion, salt, pepper, and garlic salt; mix well. DO NOT ADD THE WATER! (Yes I did this, and my patty’s were a wee bit soggy!)
  2. Shape into 6 patties.
  3. Place in shallow baking dish.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.
  5. Drain off fat. (TIP- to avoid this step, place the patties on pieces of bread before baking. When you get to this step, remove the grease soaked bread, and continue. I did it and it worked awesome
  6. Combine remaining soup and water; pour over patties.
  7. Bake an additional 10 minutes or until thoroughly heated.

p2230601

Garlic Fries

p2230600

YUM! I found these on Lindsay’s blog, I decided to trick my potato hating husband, and get him to eat real potatoes by making them into fries. These were REALLY easy, and so delicious. The husband actually ate them, which is a huge accomplishment around here when it comes to potatoes! I think I needed to use more EVOO, because they were really stuck to the pan when I was done baking them.

Ingredients:

 

* 2-3 potatoes for two people ( I used one GIGANTIC potato)
* Garlic powder
* Salt and pepper 
* EVOO
Directions:
1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Cut potatoes into french fry strips. Toss with EVOO, salt, pepper, garlic (and any other seasonings you like!)
3. Bake in oven for 30-45 minutes or until crispy.
No Responses Yet to “Salisbury Steak and Garlic Fries”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

