Cherry Chip Cake Balls

22Feb10

I love Bakerella, and saw a bunch of different varieties of cake balls on her website. So for my step-mom’s birthday I decided to take her favorite cupcake (cherry chip) and make them into cake balls. These were surprisingly easy, and fun to make. Messy, yes, but as I kept going they got easier and less messy. It takes some time to perfect the dipping technique. These were delicious, and my step mom was so excited to receive them!

Ingredients:

  • 1 box cherry chip cupcake mix- cook as directed for a 9×13 cake)
  • 1 can vanilla frosting (16 oz)
  • 1 package chocolate bark ( I used pink and white melting chocolate I found at hobby lobby)

Directions:

1. After cake is cooked and cooled completely, crumble into large bowl.
2. Mix thoroughly with 1 can frosting. (It may be easier to use fingers to mix together, but be warned it will get messy.)
3. Roll mixture into quarter size balls and lay on cookie sheet. (Should make 45-50. You can get even more if you use a mini ice cream scooper
4. Chill for several hours. (You can speed this up by putting in the freezer.)- Don’t skip this step!!! It makes it much easier to dip in the chocolate.
5. Melt chocolate in microwave per directions on package.
6. Roll balls in chocolate and lay on wax paper until firm. (Use a spoon to dip and roll in chocolate and then tap off extra.)

I also only melt a little bit at a time because it starts to cool and thicken. It’s easier to work with when it’s hot.

One Response to “Cherry Chip Cake Balls”

  1. 1 Angie

    I’ve followed your blog for sometime now…it single-handidly got my thru some of my pregnancy cravings.(Cream Cheese chicken anyone?) Anyways I was given a Beautiful Blogger award, and I think you deserve one too!

    http://imo-fwiw.blogspot.com/2010/02/you-really-like-me.html


Leave a Reply

