Mexican Pizza

18Oct10

If it’s a mexican recipe, and I stumble across it, chances are I will make it. I had to adapt the recipe for these quite a bit because I didn’t have a few of the ingredients. These were still really good, and I think it is safe to say that with the omitted items they would be even better! This recipe is from For the Love of Cooking, which is a new blog I have found that I really enjoy… you should check it out! If you click the link, you can see her full version of the recipe with pictures.

Ingredients:

Ground Beef Mixture:
(Disclaimer: this is from the original recipe, and I am sure it is amazing. I was lazy and just used taco seasoning to make our meat mixture).
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 lb of lean ground beef (I used 93/7)
  • 1/2 sweet yellow onion, diced
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • Dash of red pepper flakes
  • Sea salt and freshly cracked pepper, to taste
  • 1 4 oz can of diced green chiles

 

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the ground beef and break the meat into crumbles. Add the onion as well as the seasonings then cook for 4-5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the green chiles then stir until well combined. Set aside.

 

Other Ingredients:
  • Flour Tortillas
  • Refried beans
  • Cheddar cheese, grated
  • Salsa
  • Tomato, diced (omitted)
  • Avocado, diced (omitted)
  • Green onions, diced (omitted)
  • Fresh cilantro, chopped (omitted)
  • Sour Cream (optional)

Directions:

 

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Line a baking sheet with a silpat mat. (I didn’t have the mat. I did line the sheet with parchment paper).
  3. Layer a flour tortilla with refried beans then place on baking sheet.
  4. Add a bit of the beef mixture then top with another tortilla.
  5. Bake in the oven for 10 minutes; remove from oven and spoon a bit of salsa on top of the top tortilla then top with cheese.
  6. Return to the oven and cook for an additional 5-7 minutes or until the cheese is melted.
  7. Remove from the oven and top with the tomatoes, avocado, green onions and fresh cilantro. (This is the step I had to omit due to lack of ingredients… I am not a tomato girl, but I am pretty sure that avocados would have made this even better then it was!)
  8. Serve with more salsa and sour cream. Enjoy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



No Responses Yet to “Mexican Pizza”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment